Nigeria University News

Nigeria Senate Approves Higher Institution for Buhari’s Hometown, Nine Others

 President Muhammad Buhari.  Photo:
President Muhammad Buhari. Photo:

The Nigerian Senate has on Wednesday, 28th of November, approved the establishment of ten (10) higher institutions across the nation.

According to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), the Nigerian Senate said that the approval of the establishment of the institutions was in line with the policy to establish polytechnics across the nation. The lawmakers agreed that the establishment of the institutions would open up the education space in the country.

NAN also reported that the resolution was made after the federal lawmakers adopted the report of the senate committee on tertiary institutions and TETFund, which was presented by the committee’s chairman, Jubrin Barau.

Out of the ten institutions approved by the senate is one polytechnic which is to be located in the hometown of President Muhammad Buhari in Daura, Kastina state.

“I want to thank the Senate for the expeditious conclusion of the consideration of these bills. It is a good thing that we have done our part in creating more schools and opportunities for our children,” the deputy senate president stated.

The approved institutions include; Federal Poly Kabo, Federal Poly Daura, Federal University of Education Aguleri, National Institute of Construction Technology and Management and Federal Polytechnic Ikom.
Other include, Federal College of Education (Technical) Arochukwu Abia state, Federal Polytechnic Langtang Plateau state, Federal College of Education, Usugbenu-Irua, Federal University of Technology Manchok and Federal Polytechnic Kwale, Delta state.

Post Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: