Nigeria University News

Universities Commission Prosecutes Nine Illegal Varsities

National Universities Commission (NUC). Photo: Voice of Nigeria (VON)
National Universities Commission (NUC). Photo: Voice of Nigeria (VON)

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has published the name of nine universities in its weekly bulletin, which are all being investigated and undergoing court actions along with their owners.

The Universities Commission, on January 28, 2019, was mandated by the Federal Government to work with the security agencies to arrest and prosecute the owners or founders of about sixty-six unlicensed universities in the country.
Malam Adamu Adamu, Minister of Education, gave the directive during a press conference in Abuja.

The Minister put the figure of the unlicensed universities at 66, while unlicensed polytechnics, mono-tecnics and colleges of education stood at 68.

Reports, however, revealed that only nine of the 66 illegal universities were being prosecuted as of April 8, and were situated in Nasarawa, Enugu, Abia, Edo, Ekiti and Benue states.

“In addition to the closure, the following degree mills are currently undergoing further investigations or court actions. The purpose of these actions is to prosecute the proprietors and recover illegal fees and charges on subscribers.

“They are National University of Nigeria, Nasarawa; North Central University, Benue; Christ Alive Christian Seminary University, Enugu; Richmond Open University, Abia; West Coast University; Saint Clements University, Ekiti; Volta University College, Abia; illegal satellite campuses of Ambrose Alli University and Life Leadership University in Edo state,” NUC bulletin partly reads.

Post Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: