Nigeria University News

NAUB, AITK, Fourteen Others Make TETFUND List in 2018

Image result for TETFUND
TETFUND Building. Photo: Guardian

Nigerian Army University, Biu, Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna and fourteen other tertiary institutions have been listed on the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND) Special Intervention Scheme.

Dr. Abdullahi Baffa, Executive Secretary of TETFUND disclosed in Abuja to men of the press on review and performance of the Fund in the Year 2018.

“In 2018, the fund re-engineered the implementation of the fund’s mandate relating to improvement of quality and maintenance of standards in critical areas of need by cancelling arbitrary special interventions and instituting zonal intervention, allocated equally across the geo-political zones, as originally conceived by the TETFUND establishment act,” Baffa stated.

The Executive Secretary also added by saying that the Board of Trustees of TETFUND approved the enlistment of sixteen new beneficiary institutions in 2018 after meeting all requirements and the fund granted approval in principle for the commencement of 226 new projects in universities, polytechnics and colleges of education.

“We have disbursed 329 first tranches, 112 second tranches and 189 final tranches of projects across our beneficiary institutions. This means that a total of 189 physical infrastructure projects have been completed in 2018 in our public higher institutions while 112 are at various of completion.

  Oyo State Governor Offers University Scholarship to Best SSCE Student

“We also inspected and monitored 361 project sites across the country, 301 projects were found satisfactory and disbursements for their subsequent tranches were effected. Only 60 projects were queried as a result of some infractions and the institutions have been asked to clear the infractions before such projects are cleared to subsequent disbursement,” Baffa added.

The enlisted institutions include; Nigerian Army University Biu, Ondo state University of Science and Technology Okitipupa, First Technical University Ibadan, Air Force Institute Technology Kaduna, Binyaminu Usman Polyechnics, Hadeija College of Education Gombe, College of Education Bauchi, College of Education Lanlate Oyo, Federal Polytechnic Sapade Ogun state, Ogun state Institute of Technology Igbesa, Federal Polytechnic Sapaade Ogun state, Oke-ogun Polytechnic Saki Oyo state, University of Medical Science Ondo state and Enugu State Polytechnic Enugu state.

Post Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: