Nigeria University News

Senate Approves Establishments of Federal Institutions

 Senator Bukola Saraki, Senate President. Photo: Pars Today
Senator Bukola Saraki, Senate President. Photo: Pars Today

According to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), the Senate on Wednesday, December 5, passed six bills seeking the establishment of federal tertiary institutions across the country.

The proposed institutions, according to NAN, are four polytechnics, one college of education and one university of technology.
The Polytechnics will be located at Mpu, Enugu state; Kwale, Delta state; Kaltungo, Gombe state and Adikpo, Benue state. The University of Technology will be located at Auchi, Edo state while the College of Education will be at Omu-Ekiti, Ekiti state.

The passage of the bills at plenary followed the consideration of the reports of the committee on tertiary institutions TETFUND presented by its chairman, Jubrin Barau.
Barau said the country was short of the number of tertiary institutions it needed to meet its educational goals and aspirations.
“In fact, we have not attained twenty percent of our requirements, so these institutions need to be established,” he stated.

“I pray the government takes steps to ensure these schools are established as soon as possible, and the necessary infrastructure provided for their early take-off,” the deputy senate president stated.

Post Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: