Nigeria University News

University of Lagos Alumni To Honour Sanwo-Olu, Others At Annual Celebration


The University of Lagos (UNILAG) Alumni Association, Lagos Chapter is set to honour nineteen prominent Nigerians which include Governors, Traditional Rulers and Seasoned Academics for their outstanding contribution to educational ans national development.


The Chairman of the association, Lagos chapter, Dr. Lukmon Adeoti, while speaking with pressmen on the lined up activities for the association’s annual week which is billed to commence tomorrow (Friday), revealed that the awardees were selected after rigorous scrutiny.


He made it known that the association identifies with the awardees for their contribution to national development, integrity and readiness to support the growth of the education sector and restated the association’s commitment to support the institution in its drive to offer qualitative education to its teeming students.

Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State. Photo: The Nation
Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State. Photo: The Nation

According to Adeoti, the awardees include Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos, Gov. Udom Emmanuel of Akwa Ibom, Oba Fredrick Obateru Akinruntan, Prof. Folasade Tolulope Ogunsola, Prof. Adekunle Adeyinka and Rector of Federal School of Survey, Oyo, Dr. Dupe Niniola.


Others include the Commissioner for Works in Cross River State, Epraim Inyanggeye; Chairman VIXA Pharmaceutical Company Ltd, Chief Ebuka Okafor; Principal Partner, Wale Taiwo & Co, Chief Wale Taiwo; and Chairman Petroleum Managers, Lagos, Chief Ademola Shabi.

  Prof. Ezemonye is Igbinedion University's New Vice-chancellor


The Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu would be honoured with an award of excellence in the conceptualization of new ideas for national growth which Gov. Udom of Akwa Ibom would receive the distinguished political leadership award.


According to reports reaching campusbiz, the annual general meeting and dinner will hold the same day in the evening at the Jelili Omotola hall where the awardees would be honoured.

Post Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: